That One Time My Three Year Old Taught Me a Life Lesson.

DSC_4478_J_ALVITI_PHOTOGRAPHY_WEB

So this post comes as a little Mommy Moment reminder. If you have small children, you know that 3 is an age of wanting independence but still needing help…an age of incredible curiosity and wanting to know the “how’s” and “why’s” to everything we do…the age of non stop talking, defiance, meltdowns, and mood swings. Well that is right where Max is, and some days it’s amazing because he grows and learns so much so quickly – he always surprises us with a sweet thought or extra hugs and kisses. But some days, when you’re running on no sleep, it can be super tough. Not many people are ready to handle 900 questions about life at 6:30 am, mixed in with requests to go outside play (it’s not even sunny yet) and “Why are you so tired, Mommy, the sun is up?!”

I am not the most patient person in the world – especially when I’m over tired (and under-caffeinated) and the other morning, Max was chatting away and asking the same questions over and over while we were sitting at the breakfast table. Without even thinking about it I just asked him to hush because I was trying to listen to an online course on my phone. Well, he listened –  he got silent. A minute later, he looked at me with giant, sad eyes, and said, “Mommy, I’m sorry I talk to you too much all the time…”

 

and then my heart broke.

 

I immediately turned off my phone and scooped him up…I told him that I love that he talks to me, and to never stop…that I always have time for him and that his thoughts are so important to me. and then I apologized for being a grump and gave him a zillion kisses.

 

It’s so easy with technology right now to be constantly distracted – our minds can so easily be somewhere else. It’s so easy to forget that they aren’t just little kids we’re constantly responsible for, but little humans who are developing into amazing people and the way we treat them now can affect our relationship with them for the rest of their lives. If I don’t take the time to listen to  him now when he’s small, he will have given up trying to tell me things by the time he’s a teen. The things he’s saying and questions he’s asking seem silly and redundant most of the time, but to him, everything is SO important.

 

It was a big moment for me in my Mommy life – realizing I was doing something wrong and needing to fix it….the most important job I’ll ever have is raising these two kids, and I need to make them feel that way no matter how tired I may be or how much work I may have on my plate. Being present is such a HUGE deal with my kids –  all they want is our time, love, and attention.

 

Lesson learned, my baby boy. I will never be perfect, but I will try my best to always listen and always make you feel like the amazing, important human being that you are. ❤

DSC_4365_J_ALVITI_PHOTOGRAPHY_WEB((He always brings me flowers…))

